Liebster Award

Image

A great honor has been bestowed upon this Mama.  I have been nominated by a fellow blogger, http://triedtestedandtruemommy.wordpress.com/ , for the Liebster Blog Award!  This is an expression of recognition for new bloggers with less than 200 followers.  To accept the nomination, I need to answer a few questions from my nominator and in true pay-it-forward fashion, I will nominate other bloggers for the honor of the Liebster Award and choose eleven questions for the new set of nominees.

The questions I have been asked appear below with my answers:

If you were President of the World, what laws would you make?   My first laws would probably center around additional finding for human services.  We have a responsibility to take care of those who were born into poverty.  How can we demand the same results from those who were never giving a fair chance from the beginning?  I am not talking about lowering the bar, I am talking about giving everyone the fair opportunity to reach it.  We need employment skills training, funding for childcare, peer mentors and enough federal dollars to employ social service staff to provide support and accountability.  Next initiatives would include marriage equality, gun control and empowering every woman to make educated, autonomous decisions about her health without judgement.  That’s all… no big deal.

If you were a Superhero, what power would you have?  I wanna fly.  Or have the ability to be in four places at the same time.  Or the ability to make food that every person under this roof would eat.  Or the ability teach a seven year old how to tie his shoes, ride a bike or throw a baseball without losing my shit.  Or fly.

What would your dream holiday be? I’d certainly add some kind of gift giving element to the Fourth of July.  How freaking cool would that be?!  Parade?  Fireworks?  Presents?  Awesome!

What do you find rewarding about blogging?  Definitely, by far, the most rewarding thing about blogging is seeing people come together and support each other.  After I had my first child, I suffered from some postpartum depression.  In addition to my son having some health issues- one of which required surgery when he was 9 months old, I felt alone.  I was too insecure to ask questions for fear of exposing my weaknesses.  As I became a more secure  mom, I realized that pretending everything was fine all the time was exhausting.  Once I admitted my struggles, I found that other Mamas have struggles too.  This blog was birthed with the same intent.  It’s a wonderful thing to see Mamas supporting each other, cheering each other on and checking the judgement at the door.

Do you think that cursive writing is a skill all children should have?  Yes.  No matter how technology advances, we will always have to sign our names.  A good signature and purposeful penmanship are a reflection of integrity.  (And we had to learn that shit so they should too.)

If you could go back in time and change one thing, what would it be?  I wouldn’t have worried so much when my first child was born.  I spent an extraordinary amount of time listening to others and trying to do what the books said…  In reality it’s simple.  Enjoy every minute- even the bad ones because you’ll miss them all when they are grown.

What would be your best achievement to date?  My children: I haven’t killed one yet.

If you could, would you want to be a celebrity?  Um.  Maybe.  There are some parts I’d love: recognition for my talents, the platform to advocate for causes I feel are understated, the clothes… Oh and the moo-lah.  But there are some parts I’d hate: the press, constant criticism and just plain meanness from some.  I mean really: I have a wardrobe malfunction every time my two year old decides he needs a boob.

When you were younger, what did you want to be when you grew up?  For my entire childhood, I wanted desperately to become a teacher.  It wasn’t until late in high school that I realized how many children struggle with learning because of issues outside of their learning environment.  It was then I decided that I wanted to be a social worker.  My career has followed suit and I now lead a Wellness Program integrated within public housing for low-income people with disabilities, seniors and families.  Doesn’t get much more rewarding than bearing witness to humans overcoming barriers to improve and recognize the value in improving their health!

Why did you start blogging?  In addition to the reasons listed above, I would also say that I love to write.  In addition to connecting with other Mamas, this blog serves as my creative outlet for writing.

If you could ask your future self 1 question, what would it be?  What made you happiest?  I’d want to know, looking back, which moments I should focus on.  My life is so full and there are so many tasks in a day, so many things that need my attention.  Be it bills, groceries, bedtimes, meals, appointments, playdates, conferences, I am consumed with thinking about the next thing instead of enjoying the moments.  To look back and see the happy moments for what they are would enable me to be cognizant in the moment.

Now the rules go that I need to nominate 11 blogs for the esteemed Liebster Blog Award… However, new to blogging as I am, I don’t follow 11 blogs which have less than 200 followers… So, I am bending the rules a bit.  Here are seven blogs I enjoy routinely.

  1. http://barefootinstilettos.wordpress.com/
  2. http://projectlittlesmith.blogspot.com
  3. http://www.mandajeanphoto.com/blog?wref=bif
  4. http://simpleijustdo.com/
  5. http://strugglingforeverafter.wordpress.com/
  6. http://midlifeintoronto.wordpress.com/
  7. http://runsingsmile.wordpress.com/

To you all, please answer the following questions and link back to my blog:

  1. Why and when did you being your quest as a blogger?
  2. What is most fulfilling about writing your blog?
  3. What is your favorite time of the day?
  4. What is your happiest memory from childhood?
  5. What were you most afraid of as a child?
  6. How will you know you have “made it” in life?
  7. You are on an island… Three things… What do you want?
  8. What are your areas for improvement?
  9. What rules about life do you wish you could change?
  10. What is your least favorite thing about being an adult?
  11. What motivates you to be a better person?
Leave a Reply

