Dear Mooch

My Dear Sweet Mooch,

Tomorrow, we will accompany you to Kindergarten Registration.  On the eve of this monumental event, I felt it necessary to write to you in a effort to put words to my thoughts during this experience.  Your life began with a bit of a rocky pregnancy.  At a few points, there was real reason to worry but you came into this world a soft, fleshy, pink lover.  You latched on within moments of your birth, despite being born via cesarean, and didn’t let go for 16 long months.  You were affectionately dubbed Mooch due to your tendency to beg all the food and affection anyone had to offer.  The name stuck.  And to this day, you are my sweet Mooch.

You were the easiest baby.  Which I desperately needed.  Coming off the emotional bender of raising your brother, your calm, peace and need for constant cuddles was warmly welcomed.  I could have held you for days at a time.  And sometimes I did.  To this day, you will give out affection in the form of hugs, kisses, snuggles and hand holding without reservation. Rubbing your warm cheek against mine before you close your eyes is the highlight of every day.  You take care of others’ feelings, sometimes more than your own.  You recognize when someone has been hurt and try to make it better.  You are inclusive and empathetic.  You love without abandon.  You are one of the brightest lights in my life.

Your favorite color is secretly purple.  I know you don’t want your older brother to know.  You asked for the purple glitter at the store and I watched you grin as you smeared it on the fresh glue.  You love to play house and enjoy pushing the stroller- no doubt pretending you are a loving, softhearted dad just as your own.

You are a child who loves to give love.  Never lose these parts of yourself.  You will be tested.  Your gentle heart will be broken.  You will be left out, hurt, embarrassed, lonely.  I desperately wish to tell you that you will be spared the harshness of others but it would be a lie.  Please do not let go of the love you have for others.  The softness of your soul.  These are defining attributes and the best parts about you.

Thankfully, I still have another few months to prepare for the hole you will leave in my heart when you are gone from me for hours each day.  When you will begin to have a life away from me.  I will let you go because there is a whole world of people out there who will benefit from your kindness and love.  You will touch lives, I can guarantee that.  People will be better because they know you.  Better because you can share your gifts with them.  I am not quite ready yet but I am aware that this is the first big step in the direction of letting go.  Always be my Mooch.

Image

I super love you to the moon and back and beyond.  More than all the leaves on all the trees in the whole wide world, more than all the stars in the sky, more than anything.

Mama

13 thoughts on “Dear Mooch

  1. Alright I am sobbing like a baby! This really hit home tonight for me as I sit on the couch and complete the online kindergarten registration this evening for Avery. Thanks for sharing from the heart. You put into words exactly how I am feeling at this very moment. Wow! Incredibly said 🙂 As I am very excited about Avery entering another chapter of his young life, I will be very sad as we walk hand in hand into the front door of his school next Tuesday for his kindergarten screening! Thinking of you and Mooch! ❤

  2. Pingback: Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire | Mama Gets Real

Leave a Reply

